I didn’t know that I would
leave behind an ache
That burned your soul
and scarred it black.
I didn’t know that your tears
Would leave you wet and thirsty
Though you’re standing in the rain.
I didn’t know you loved me so much,
Or that I loved you so little.
You are part of me like
A shoelace is part of the shoe,
Like buttons are part of a shirt.
We fit together.
I thought I knew
Thats all there was.
She came suddenly, quietly
From nowhere, but was everywhere.
We didn’t fit  together
like a pen to paper
Or a shoelace to a shoe.
It was  lava to a volcano,
Lightning to a storm.
The electric touch
Of her lips to mine
Brought a torrent of passion
Crashing through my veins.
Surrender was always sweet,
Parting brought such sorrow.
I didn’t know that she would
Leave behind an ache
That burned my soul
And scarred it black.
I didn’t know the pain
She left in her wake
Would be the final gift
I shared with you.
How do I stay
Knowing love this way.
How do I go…
Knowing you love me
This way.

image

Leave a Reply

