When the sunshine rocks a fuschia sky,
and the blackness fades away,
I’ll still listen for the echo
of the words you used to say.
Clenched tightly in my midnight dream
is a hope for you and me,
Yet every painful breath I take
brings a haunting memory.
A time when things were simple
and laughter found its way,
A time when lovers held their hands
and angels came to pray.
Silence is an enemy,
and doubt will cloud the heart,
The peace of love is stolen,
the heavens fall apart.
And in the wake of broken dreams,
I wonder once again,
If the wind will softly whisper,
If my broken heart will mend.
Please take away these inner eyes
that see what might have been,
And blow away the falling tears
that never seem to end.

image

3 thoughts on “Silent Enemy

Leave a Reply

