I stand beneath this crumbling bridge
An echo from the past
And ponder who has come before
A matey or a lass.
Did they cross this bridge
With hopes held high
With dreams of far off lands
A soldier on his way to war
Two lovers hand in hand.
I stand beneath this crumbling bridge
It’s brackets Worn and old,
It seems to bow before me,
It’s secrets still untold.
Standing still I faintly hear
A whisper or the wind,
Maybe those who’ve gone before
Are coming home again.
I stand beneath this crumbling bridge,
Drinking in its glory,
And if I listen closely,
I hear it’s untold story.

image

2 thoughts on “Untold Story

  1. I absolutely loved it .you have woven a crumbling bridge very beautifully with yesterday..today and tomorrow. I was so absorbed in reading it that it was sad it ended so quickly.i think it should have bwen longer.
    Over all a nice piece of writing. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

