I hear your heart speak softly
It whispers just to me
And in the early morning hours
I watch you as you sleep.
The daylight brings you closer
As I wrap you in my arms
To shelter you from heartache
To shelter you from harm.
Then looking deep into your eyes
I swear I see your soul
A special gift from heaven
To fill the empty hole.
The one that used to live inside
And nothing could restore
Till the day you came into my life
And passion flared once more.
And now you’re here before me
I gently stroke your hair
As I gaze into the future
And see you standing there.

image

3 thoughts on “Standing There

Leave a Reply

