Really no intro is needed for this. It just feels stark and impersonal if I post something without having my own voice “heard” somewhere. I suppose I could have said nothing after this poem just as easily. But… I didn’t. 🙂
     
       Strangers Face

Inside a spec of time
Inside a lonely space,
Eyes that used to know you
See a strangers face.
What happened to that softness
That light that used to shine
What happened to the love we shared
The kind that’s hard to find.
Today you say your last goodbye
There must have been a first,
I couldn’t see you needed me
My love you needed most.
There’s nothing left inside your soul
That you can give to me
I see the shadows cross your face
And I turn so you won’t see
Won’t see the pain of wasted years
Of memories I’ll keep
Won’t see the pain I carry on
When I lay down to sleep.
And so I wish you well love,
I won’t hold you here to stay
I press you closely one last time
Then I watch you walk away.

image

2 thoughts on “Strangers Face

Leave a Reply

