I woke up one day and said
Hey what’s goin on?
My life is over but it hasn’t yet begun.
The years fly past
but time
has hardly moved at all.
I’m on the brink of danger,
But I’m laughing through it all
What happened to my yesterday? I’m not ready for the next day.
Somewhere I must have gotten lost,
somewhere along the way.
I didn’t know how much it cost, didn’t know the price I’d pay.
Now it seems with every backward glance,
Tomorrow’s turning gray
Troubles knocking on my door,
So instead I look ahead,
Wait. I’ve seen its face before.
From the gloomy coat it sheds.
I’m tired of the lonely fight, the constant drone of pain,
I’ve had enough, I’m giving up, there’s not enough to gain.
What happened to my yesterday? I’m not ready for the next day.
Somewhere I must have gotten lost,
somewhere along the way.
I didn’t know how much it cost,
Didn’t know the price I’d pay.
Now it seems with every backward glance
Tomorrow’s turning gray.
Then in the early frozen morning, the same old sun will shine,
Lapping up the dew drops
A master of design.
The guilty and the Innocent,
The sultry and the prude
All seem to stand against me,
With vengeful attitude.
What happened to my yesterday I’m not ready for the next day.
Somewhere I must have gotten lost,
somewhere along the way.
I didn’t know how much it cost,
Didn’t know the price I’d pay.
Now it seems with every backward glance
Tomorrow’s turning gray.
With every single backward glance The piper wants his pay.

image

One thought on “This is Life

  1. Wonderfully described passing of time, “Then in the early frozen morning, the same old sun will shine,
    Lapping up the dew drops
    A master of design.” – was my favourite part, a peak of strenght before the ending with the piper waiting.

Leave a Reply

